na014 - matthew grouse - palettes

1 - scratch
2 - i scream at the wind (i hear no answer)
3 - eye of the storm

Matthew Grouse’s work deals in frailties. A Glasgow based composer, originally from North Yorkshire, Grouse uses electronic and acoustic sound to embrace the tension between reality and the surreal. In this he finds perpetually competing noise and stillness, a muddle he’s keen to explore.

Matthew’s music has been showcased across the UK and internationally, in Germany, Italy, Egypt, USA, Canada and Ireland at festivals such as EviMus Festival; Sound / Image Colloquium; The Cumnock Tryst Festival; St Magnus International Festival; Cottier Chamber Project; Leeds Lieder Festival; PLUG Festival; St Andrews New Music Festival and multiple international film and theatre festivals. His concert music has been performed or workshopped by artists including: Royal Northern Sinfonia; Hebrides Ensemble; Red Note Ensemble; The Assembly Project; DeCoda Ensemble; Gildas Quartet; Dohnányi String Trio; RCS Jazz Big Band; Sinae Lee (pianist); Lewis Banks (saxophonist) and Charlotte Heslop (mezzo).

composed/produced by Matthew Grouse

saxophone on 'i scream at the wind (i hear no answer)' by Lewis Banks

video by Andy Sowerby

artwork by Brooke Herr

©Not Art Records 2018